Upgrading or Downgrading Deadline

Overview

This will guide you through the process of upgrading or downgrading an existing Deadline installation.

Major Upgrades or Downgrades

If upgrading to a new major version (for example, Deadline 6 to 7), or downgrading from a new major version (for example, Deadline 7 to 6), you will need to install a new Repository and Database, and you will need to reinstall the Client software. This is necessary because there are often breaking changes between major releases. Do not install over an existing installation unless it’s the same major version, or there could be unexpected results.

Note that Deadline 7 requires a newer version of the MongoDB database application. However, this newer version is backward compatible with Deadline 6. So if you are installing the MongoDB database application to a machine that already has a Deadline 6 database installed, you can just install it over top of the existing Deadline 6 database installation.

You should also reinstall your integrated submission scripts on your workstations, since it’s possible these were changed between major releases. See the Application Plug-ins documentation for more information on how to set up the integrated submission scripts (where applicable).

The license server should also be upgraded to ensure it will work with newer releases in case there are incompatibilities with the previous version of the license server.

Please refer to the following documentation for more information:

Minor Upgrades or Downgrades

If upgrading or downgrading to a minor version that is part of the same major release cycle (for example, Deadline 7.0 to 7.0.1, or Deadline 7.1 to 7.1), you can simply install over the existing installation. If you have Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades enabled, you can have the Clients automatically upgrade or downgrade themselves after upgrading or downgrading the Database and Repository. Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades can be enabled in the Client Setup section of the Repository Configuration.

You can also enable Remote Administration in the Client Setup section of the Repository Configuration. This will make it easier to upgrade or downgrade your render nodes remotely.

Note that this upgrade/downgrade method is only supported when upgrading or downgrading an existing Repository installation. For example, it is NOT recommended to install the Deadline 7.1 Repository to a new location and then have your 7.0 Clients upgrade by pointing them to the new Repository path. Instead, you should first move your Repository installation and then do the upgrade once your 7.0 Clients are connected to the new Repository.

Important Notice When Upgrading From 7.0 to 7.1: Due to a change in the Slave Scheduling settings in the database, you should avoid editing the Slave Scheduling settings from a machine running version 7.1 until all machines have upgraded to 7.1. Otherwise, you will get the following error when the Launcher tries to auto-upgrade. If you get this error when the Launcher tries to auto-upgrade, the workaround is to delete all Slave Scheduling groups in the Slave Scheduling settings, and then recreate them once all machines have upgraded to 7.1.

An error occurred while deserializing the SlaveSchedulingGroups property of class
Deadline.Configuration.DeadlineNetworkSettings: Element 'AllSlaves' does not match
any field or property of class Deadline.Slaves.SlaveSchedulingGroup.
(System.IO.FileFormatException)

Upgrading or Downgrading the Database and Repository

Launch the new Repository installer, and choose the existing Repository folder for the Installation Directory. Then choose the option to connect to an existing MongoDB database, and use the same Database Settings you used when installing the previous version (they should be pre-populated for you).

During the installation, all binaries, plug-ins, and scripts from the previous version will be backed up. You can find them in the backup folder in the Repository after the installation is complete. Note that any scripts or plugins in the ‘custom’ folder will not be affected when upgrading the Repository.

After upgrading or downgrading the Database and Repository, you can then upgrade or downgrade the Clients.

Upgrading or Downgrading Pulse and Balancer

Before upgrading or downgrading all of your client machines, you should first upgrade or downgrade Pulse and the Balancer (if you’re running either of them). If you don’t have Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades enabled, you will have to upgrade or downgrade Pulse and the Balancer manually, which involves running the Client Installer on the Pulse machine. See the Client Installation Guide for more information.

If you have Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades enabled, all you have to do is restart the Pulse or Balancer application from the Monitor, providing that Remote Administration is enabled. The Client will notice that the Repository has been upgraded or downgraded, and will automatically upgrade or downgrade itself.

  • To restart Pulse remotely, select Pulse in the Pulse List in the Monitor while in Super User mode, then right click and select Remote Control -> Restart Pulse.
  • To restart the Balancer remotely, select the Balancer in the Balancer List in the Monitor while in Super User mode, then right click and select Remote Control -> Restart Balancer.

See the Remote Control documentation for more information about the remote commands that are available.

Upgrading or Downgrading the Clients

If you don’t have Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades enabled, you will have to upgrade or downgrade the Clients manually, which involves running the Client Installers on the machines. See the Client Installation Guide for more information.

If you have Automatic Upgrades / Downgrades enabled, all you have to do is restart the Slave application on each render node through the Launcher. The Client will notice that the Repository has been upgraded or downgraded, and will automatically upgrade or downgrade itself. In addition, the next time artists launch the Monitor on their workstations through the Launcher, their installation will also be upgraded or downgraded.

To restart the Slaves remotely, Remote Administration must be enabled. Select the Slaves you want to upgrade or downgrade in the Monitor while in Super User mode, then right click and select Remote Control -> Restart Slaves. If the slaves are currently rendering and you don’t want to disrupt them, you can choose the option to Restart Slaves After Current Task instead. This option will allow the Slaves to upgrade or downgrade after they finishe rendering their current task to prevent the loss of any render time. See the Remote Control documentation for more information.

After restarting the Slaves, several Slaves may appear offline or a message may pop up saying the certain Slaves did not respond. This may occur because all the Slaves are trying to upgrade or downgrade at once. Wait a little bit and eventually all the Slaves should come back online.